Day 4-Gymming without hair is like flying without wings

Gymming without having to constantly bat my hair out of my eyes and re-tie it every five minutes, is GLORIOUS. Rather than being distracted, I’m able to concentrate on pushing my body and seeing what it can do, and that’s kinda refreshing! Granted, there have been some serious teething issues with my new hair (like when I first washed it and used the same amount of shampoo as I normally would and ended up with more suds in my eyes than I’ve ever had, or how I still wince a little every time that I look in the mirror), but gymming with no hair is truly fabulous!

The human body really is a wonderful thing. The things the body can do are incredible. Not only can it swim oceans and climb mountains, but it can also heal itself, or even discover cures to help other bodies heal themselves! That’s phenomenal. And yet we spend time worrying about what they look like, when we could be marvelling about what they can do? Every body can do something different, and can be trained to do new things. We should focus on what our bodies can do, and not what they look like. I know that’s easier said than done though, especially since bodies get battered throughout life, and some bodies cannot do what what other bodies easily can.

I’m thankful for my body. I’m thankful that it is healthy and is able to do awesome things, and that I will learn even more about it and what it can do now that I’m not being distracted by my hair. I, like everyone, am made in the image of God. That in itself is amazing. But I think that I have never grasped the gravity of that before, because it’s such a hard thing to grasp when you’re busy criticising your body for what it looks like. I hope that as I continue to learn and reflect on what my body can do, and not what it looks like, I hope that I come closer to understanding what it actually means to be made in the image of God. I hope that when I begin to understand what it means to be made in the image of a perfect God, that I can begin to respect myself and my body a little more. We are constantly being bombarded by the media with reasons to not respect ourselves, and reasons to put ourselves down. But in God’s infinite wisdom he has made me an individual, exactly as I am meant to be. I am the only me there ever was, and there ever will be. And you are the only you. If I can fully understand what it means to be made in God’s image, then maybe I can grasp the full possibilities of what I am capable of, and realise my full potential.

Day 4-Gymming without hair is like flying without wings

Leave a Reply

