Day 14- Hair, WHERE?

The funny thing with hair is that what matters more than what it looks like, is where it is.

Head? Yes.

Armpits? Gender dependant.

That other place? There are some Brazilians who I’m sure would have something to say about it.

Traditionally, the general view in the society that I live is that women shouldn’t be hairy from the eyebrows down otherwise they are masculine, and men should be as hairy as possible from the eyebrows down otherwise they are feminine. Who decided these random associations of certain hairstyles on our heads and of body hair on certain parts of our body? WHO!? And more importantly, why? We already have so much dividing us as a species, why focus on more random things to divide us?

Anyways. Over the last few years I have developed a favourite habit. I  grow the hair on my legs super long, and then go running in shorts. It’s honestly the best thing ever. It’s a whole new sensory experience that many people (especially women due to the traditional view of hairy legged women in the society that I live) won’t ever get the opportunity to experience. The feeling of the wind rippling through the hair on my legs is amazing.

The sad part is, that I only free my hairy legs when I’m running. That way I know that I’m moving too fast for anyone to notice. If I was spending the day with my legs exposed, I would definitely wax/shave/epilate/(insert other painful hair removal method here).

Since I cut my hair, there have been days when I have craved having more hair on my head , because my short hair made me feel judged by society. And yet, if I was to venture out to the beach in my bikini with hairy legs, armpits and (heaven forbid!) bikini line, I would feel equally judged and want to get rid of said hair. How totally, utterly, completely and entirely BIZARRE is that!?

Now, I’m not saying that women shouldn’t shave their legs. As much as I love running and feeling the breeze through the forest on my shins, I also love the silky smoothness of bed sheets against my freshly waxed calves. But maybe I need to think about why I’m doing what I’m doing to my body hair as well as the hair on my head? And I need to continue this fight to deconstruct my views which run deeper than I can imagine. Imagine a world where anyone can do anything with any hair on their body, and nobody would bat an eyelid. That’s the world I want to live in.

Basically, what I’m saying is that society’s relationship with hair is beyond strange. It’s downright hil(h)a(i)rious! (ba dum tss).

Day 14- Hair, WHERE?

Leave a comment